PSA - Overheating Bridge

Just an FYI to everyone setting up their new sentinels and bridges a word of warning. The Raspberry PI3 bridge will overheat, when laid flat on a desktop for instance, and connected directly with a LAN cable. Apparently, it’s working harder because of better bandwidth compared the second one, which is connected via WIFI only. In my case, the app crashes when the PI overheats. There is a temp warning on the dashboard of the app in the upper right corner of the screen. You have to manually restart the app. Which is a problem for a standalone device.

I made some “legs” for the base with some 3/4" long #8 machines screws and bolts that raise the frame a half an inch off the surface. Overheat warning is gone now. I suggest that you implement a method of auto-restarting the app if it crashes! But I’m no coder so I have no idea what’s involved.

2 Likes

Good looking out. Designing fan supports for it now

2 Likes

@ricthesoundguy and @K3VtheOfficial Hey Fellow GeoHackers! So I had the same issue also, I noticed my bridge kept freezing up and the little temp/thermometer icon would be showing on the display. Sooo…I found a really great little item that has helped me with my gaming laptop, some overclocking of other mobile devices and its fantastic for this situation. I am going to put a link to the one I purchased from Amazon; I hope that is allowed, I am in no way saying you have to get this exact model, two or three companies make this vacuum style mini blower device. It has the ability to be set at a certain temp to kick on from the air its pulling in, plus it can also be manually set to 13 different speeds. Its pretty quiet on almost all levels, and I have measured up to a 19 degree drop in temp when using it on max on a very high powered gaming laptop. It can attach to so many different things and I am sure you could rig it to fit anything. Well anyhow, enough babbling here is the Link, I found it to be worth the money!